This website uses cookies

We use cookies and website tracking tools to provide you with the best online experience. Learn more in our privacy statement.

if you accept, your choice will be valid until cancellation.

If you disallow cookies, functionality of our website might be limited.



The institute

The Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research (HIH) and the Clinic of Neurology at University Hospital Tübingen run the “Center of Neurology”. Founded in 2001, the center owes its existence to an agreement between several entities: the non-profit Hertie Foundation, the state of Baden Württemberg, the Medical Faculty of the University of Tübingen, and the Tübingen University Hospital. The underlying bundling of public resources and private funds is unique in Germany.

At present, the HIH is home to 24 professors, about 400 employees and more than 30 research groups. Together they ensure the smooth running of clinical research, care and educational training.

The Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research currently comprises the following six departments, of which the first five are involved in clinical care:

  • Neurology with Neurovascular Medicine (Director: Prof. Dr. Ulf Ziemann)
  • Neurodegeneration (Director: Prof. Dr. Thomas Gasser)
  • Neurology and Epileptology (Director: Prof. Dr. Holger Lerche) 
  • Neurology and Interdisciplinary Neuro-Oncology (Director: Prof. Dr. Dr. Ghazaleh Tabatabai) (Website is currently setup)
  • Cognitive Neurology (Director: Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Thier)
  • Cellular Neurology (Director: Prof. Dr. Mathias Jucker). 


Neurology with Neurovascular Medicine

The Department of Neurology with Neurovascular Medicine (Clinical Director: Prof. Ulf Ziemann) covers a broad variety of neurological disorders. Patients are referred locally, supra-regionally and internationally, in accord with our clinical and research focus, in particular in the areas of neurovascular disease (brain ischemia, intracranial hemorrhage, vasculitis), early neurorehabilitation (recovery and plasticity after stroke), neurooncology (brain and spinal tumors, brain metastases), and neuroimmunology (multiple sclerosis, neuromyelitis optica, myasthenia gravis).  more information

Neurodegenerative Diseases

The Department for Neurodegenerative Diseases has been founded with the generous support of the charitable Hertie foundation in 2002. The department follows a comprehensive approach in fundamental and clinical research in the area of neurodegenerative diseases and disorders, from the molecular and genetic basis to innovative diagnostic and treatment approaches. more information

Neurology and Epileptology

The Department of Neurology and Epileptology encompasses a 28 bed unit and 4 specialty outpatient clinics. Together with Clinic of Neurology’s other clinical departments, the epileptology team provides care for all neurological patients at the University Hospital Tübingen. more information

Cognitive Neurology

The Department of Cognitive Neurology was founded in the year 2000 with support from the program “C4-Department of Neuroscience at Neurology Clinics“ of the Hermann and Lilly-Schilling Foundation and Prof. Hans-Peter Thier was appointed head of the department. more information

Cellular Neurology

The Department is headed by Professor Mathias Jucker and was founded in 2003. The research focus is on the cellular and molecular mechanisms of brain aging and age-related neurodegenerative diseases, with a special emphasis on the pathogenesis of Alzheimer´s disease and other cerebral amyloidoses. more information

Independent Research Groups

The independent research groups at the HIH focus on the physiology of learning and memory, molecular brain development, neural dynamics and magnetoencephalography and neural network mechanisms supporting higher cognitive functions ... more information